Apple & Ginger Cake in a Bread Machine

I said I needed to do something with the apples I was given. Two of them ended up in this cake, which I baked in my Panasonic SD-255 bread machine. I do love that thing: the only bread I’ve tried to bake by hand, other than a soda bread, failed utterly. It’s on my list of stuff to crack, but in the meantime the Panasonic reliably turns out delicious loaves time after time and takes me approximately five minutes or so of effort per loaf to measure stuff out and turn it on.

One thing I haven’t tried before is baking a cake in a bread machine.  If I am honest, the perceived faff of lining the bread tin with baking parchment is why I haven’t tried this one before. In the end, whilst it didn’t look pretty, I managed to do it without anything collapsing when I added the cake mixture and, as is usually the way with these things, was far less of a pain than I thought it might be.

The parchment lining may not have looked pretty but it did the job.

The parchment lining may not have looked pretty but it did the job.

I followed the Apple and Ginger Cake recipe that came with the machine, except that I didn’t have any ground cloves and don’t particularly like the taste anyway, so added some mixed spice and ground ginger instead.  You can download the book here and it’s in the Cake section on page 28.

No idea how that’ll taste but the weight/quantity of all the ingredients added up to those used in the original recipe, so on a technical level it should be fine.  My only other variation from their method was to grate the stem ginger rather than thinly slicing it as I liked the texture of that in the proper ginger cake I made a while ago.

The biggest benefit of the bread machine for something like this is the cost. It’s much cheaper to run than heating an oven if you’re only baking one thing. It takes around 55 minutes to bake and then needs a further ten minutes resting in the tin before turning it out. My house smells of apple and ginger, unsurprisingly enough, which (combined with the colder weather) feels very autumnal.

Verdict:

Well, it looks good and smells better. I believe the term is ‘rustic’.  In any case, aside from some darker bits around the sides (which I’ll try and prevent next time by using a double layer of greaseproof paper inside the tin) I’m quite pleased with that for a first attempt.  

The finished article.

The finished article

Now I just have to find some willing victims upon whom to test my latest efforts. It doesn’t seem to be a problem and I’m getting requests, as well, for repeats of earlier experiments.

I’m toying with the idea of making a couple of batches of scones later (my baking/cooking frenzies always seem to happen when I should be asleep) and might try this recipe for Apple Scones with a Blackberry Compote.

Update: Having actually tasted it now, It hasn’t got quite as much  of a spiced flavour as I’d like, which I’m guessing is down to me omitting the ground cloves, so I’ll have to find a better substitute with which to replace them if I made it again.  Taste-wise, I know this isn’t as good as it should be: a friend of mine makes it and I’ve eaten it several times and thought it was gorgeous so I’ll pick her brains as to where it might be going wrong.  That said, it’s still tasty and I’m now going to have a slice with a giant mug of tea.

About SAM2.0

You'll want me on your team for the Zombie Apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

